Hey Blue: When does a run count on a third out?

By Bob Downey, Hanover LL UIC 2014

In baseball and softball, a very basic rule concerns whether runs count when the third out is made.

When the third out is a force out, no matter at which base it is made, no runs count.

However, if the out is not a force out, then the timing of when the run scores in relation to the time of when the out is made is important. If the run score before the third out is made, it counts.  If it is not scored before the third out is made, it does not count.

In summary:

IF A FORCE OUT – NO RUN

NOT A FORCE – TIMING IS EVERYTHING